Additional Functions

Oct 27, 2015 at 2:31 PM
Hi,
Sorry if this is in the wrong place. I've been looking for a method to administer a 365 site (we're end users, not site admins). This project seems to be perfect for my needs, so thankyou.

I did find that it didn't quite meet my needs and have added a new module where i've made changes. I've never shared anything like this before, but i can't believe i'm the only user that needs it. Also i'm very new to powershell so i've done my best to be functional, but its probably a bit clunky at the moment.

I've added 3 functions, 2 are probably more supportive so i could workout the final requirements.
What i needed was an ability to set permissions on subfolders of a library, the depth of these folders would vary. I've used your set-documentpermissions as a starting point, calling mine set-folderpermissions. Of cause the camlquery was the major headache, and i assume it will work, but can't test on any other system other than mine.

Part 2 of the requirement was to set the role to "contribute (wd)" (not sure if this is standard on all 365 sites, but proves useful to our needs - without delete). However this means i don't have a roletype, but i do have a role name. This is the function list-roles. it also explains the function GetRoleByName as i followed what was already written.

Hopefully this explains the additional parameter "$rolename" for the set-folderpermissions. Also the $foldername is based from the root of the site including the folder structure you have "/sites/Main-site/sub-site/library/folder/subfolder/subfolder".

Hopefully this all makes sense and will make it into the project in some form (hopefully better than i've done) as i think it would be very useful to others (i know subfolder permissions isn't a good thing with sharepoint, but we do what we must). Below hopefully is my your/my code, and thanks for doing such a good job so far. Its taught me most of what i now can do in powershell.